Under the menu item Company/Maintenance/Gdpr setup you can run a cleanup run so that inactive customers and vendors are anonymized.
The anonymization is done by moving the records from inactive customers/vendors to an anonymous customer/vendor account, and then deleting the inactive customers/vendors.
In this way, you can still see and print all posted transactions related to the inactive customers/vendors. However, the reference to the customer/vendor on these records has changed to point to the "GDPR customer/vendor".
Setup
When the menu item is selected, you must first enter an account number for a customer and a vendor to which the inactive customer/vendor records should be moved.
For example, it is recommended to create a customer and vendor account with the account number and name GDPR, and use these as the anonymous customer/vendor.
In the field Years enter the number of years a customer/vendor must be inactive before it is deleted. You cannot enter a quantity of less than 5 years.
This is because Denmark has a rule that accounting data must be stored for a minimum of 5 years.
If your enterprise is covered by the new EU VAT rules (One-stop VAT) that came into force on July 1, 2021, please note that you must store your accounting data for 10 years.
IMPORTANT! The 5 years are calculated from today's date and 5 years back.
Note! Customers and vendors that have NOT had transactions yet, i.e. newly created customers/vendors, will not be included in the cleanup run, and when you initiate the cleanup run, you can select simulation to see a list of the customers/vendors that will be removed before you initiate the final clean up.
![]()
Cleanup run
To initiate the cleanup run, complete the setup as described above and then select the button Clean up on the ribbon.
TIP! If, for example, you only want to anonymize your customers, you only need to fill in the field Anonymous customer and leave the field Anonymous vendor empty.
When you select the button Clean up, a prompt is displayed where you can select yes to simulate.
If simulated, a list of the customers/vendors that will be included in the cleanup run is displayed.
If the cleanup run is run without selecting yes to simulate, the cleanup run will be executed when you have typed delete in the prompt that appears when you select the button Clean up again, deselect the field Simulation and select OK.
Please note that the cleanup run runs in the background on the server while you can continue working with other tasks in Uniconta. It may therefore be necessary to select Refresh in the customer directory etc. before you can see that the customers included have been deleted.
Note! Notes and attachments on the affected customers/vendors are deleted, so if you want to keep notes or attachments, you must manually save these in another way BEFORE the cleanup run is executed.
Note! If the field Created date on your customers/vendors is empty, or if the field is filled in with a date that is not older than the number of years you specify in connection with the GDPR cleanup, then the customer/vendor will not be deleted.
The field Created date is filled in automatically when new customers/vendors are created in Uniconta. In connection with conversion to Uniconta from other systems, the field is filled in with the date of the oldest record.
Example of a customer invoice after the cleanup:
![]()
Prevent the customer/vendor from being deleted
If you want a customer/vendor not to be deleted in connection with the GDPR cleanup, you can change the field Created date on the customer/vendor. If this field is empty, the customer/vendor will not be deleted. Read more about this above under 'Cleanup run'.
Deleting old records without deleting customers/vendors
If you want to delete old transactions on your customers and vendors without deleting your customers and vendors, you can, instead of the GDPR cleanup run, choose to delete your oldest accounting year.
When under General ledger/Maintenance/Accounting year you mark your oldest accounting year and select the button Delete accounting year, your oldest accounting year will be deleted, but at the same time customer, vendor and project transactions posted with dates in the accounting year you delete will also be deleted. To ensure that the balances on the customers etc. are still correct, opening transactions are created on the customers etc.
The amount on the opening transactions is the total of the amounts posted on the individual customer/vendor.
Cleanup of employees
If you want to delete employee data, you can either delete all data on the employee.
If you end up in a situation where you have an employee who is terminated and a new one who starts and they have the same employee no./initials, you can always go into the terminated employee and change the person's employee no./initials.
This can be done by selecting an employee/transactions and via "edit all" remove the employee number or assign a "Dummy" employee. You can then delete the employee.
We always recommend that you consult your GDPR person in charge regarding the applicable rules.